Focus with a set aperture

As soon as I saw the focus exercise, I remembered the many ‘Boris Bike’ Stations in London. I felt these would be perfect candidates for this exercise. I wanted to find a bike station with a full row of bikes, as this would help create a scene with a lot of depth. This was difficult probably as the bikes were in use frequently due to the nice weather. I made sure to use the widest aperture available on my lens.

Focus is away from nearest bike

Focus closer to nearest bike

Focus closer to nearest bike

Focus on nearest bike

Focus on nearest bike

I find the first image doesn’t have a place to settle the eyes once you’ve scanned from left to right. The second image is better and is arguably the best. It focuses on the second nearest bike and so allows you to scan from left to right with a point of focus in between. I quite like the last image as the basket holder on the bike in focus has been warped so is not in line with the others. This breaks the pattern somewhat and adds interest.

Leave a comment