Focal length and angle of view

I have a full frame Canon 6D with a 24-105mm lens. This should provide a ‘standard’ view at around the 50mm mark. However, at first it seemed like I was getting this at the 70mm mark. I started thinking this may be due to the viewfinder not being 100%. With some practice and repeated shots I realised that the 50mm focal length was indeed the ‘standard’ focal length.

This is the 35mm view. As I knew this was wider than the ‘standard’ focal length, I wasn’t expecting this to look the same through the viewfinder as with the unaided eye.

This is the 50mm view.

This is the 50mm view. At first I wasn’t sure if this did indeed look the same through the viewfinder as with the unaided eye. After several practice shots and repetition, I convinced myself that it looked around the same.

This is the 70mm view.

This is the 70mm view. This isn’t too different to the 50mm view, however it is more constrained.

 

Leave a comment